Heritage Sites

Town Hall & Shire Office

Original section (left hand front) built in 1896 by architects and builders C Robert Arnott and Charles W Arnott. In 1900/01 the buidling was extended at a cost of £3,000 to include Council Chambers, administration offices, public library and reading room with a Town Hall located at the rear of the building. The front section of the building was completely renovated / restored between 1985 and 1988 and the rear hall was rebuilt in 1991. Further renovations were carried out on the offices in 1999.

Clock Tower

Folklore suggests a clock for the clock tower was sent out from England via SS "Orizaba" in 1905. Unfortunately, Orizaba sank off the coast of Rottnest Island. Eventually a clock was installed in the tower and unveiled on 1st January 2000.

Click here to read more.

Railway Station

Built in 1898 when the railway line was extended from Kalgoorlie to Menzies.  Has not been used by Westrail since 1974.  It is earmarked by the Shire of Menzies for restoration.

Menzies Community School

Built in 1898 to accommodate 200 pupils.  Now provides education for 30 children with 3 teachers and the principal.

Old Police Station, Quarters & Gaol

Built in 1911 and used until 1985. Now a private residence.

Nursing Post

Lovely old stone building, formerly Mining Warden's residence.  W Lambden-Owen (author of Cossack Gold) was Warden of North Coolgardie Goldfield in 1896.  The first hospital in Menzies was a makeshift tent located in the centre of town accommodating three beds.

Menzies Cemetery

Many graves of pioneers and children.  Has not be used for burials since 1939.  Testament to the region's roaring days providing a fascinating record of hardship.  People strived to make Menzies a vibrant, profitable town.  Menzies Cemetery was one of the first bigger cemeteries in the gold rush area with many graves of typhoid victims.  A number of distinctive tin and iron headstones can be seen, and centred in the middle is a rotunda with a box containing a list of the know burials.

Butcher Shop/Tearooms

Two of the remaining shops of the many that lined Shenton Street in early days.

Baker's Oven

Ruins of Well's Bakery.

Old Menzies Hotel

Established by Harry Gregory in 1895.  Gregory was the first Mayor of Menzies in 1896/97 and was later Minister for Mines in WA Parliament.

Old Lady Shenton Hotel

One of the earliest hotel establishments of Menzies, now the Visitor Centre.

Click here to read more.

Old Post Office

In 1987 the Post Office had a staff of 26.  Earmarked for restoration by the Shire of Menzies.

Click here to read more.

Menzies Battery

Former State Battery established in 1955.

Goongarrie Cottages

Gold was found in Goongarrie in May 1893 by Billy Frost and Jack Bennett.  The site was the first important gold discovery after Coolgardie (before Kalgoorlie).  Originally know as the roaring Gimlet or Ninety Mile (its distance from Coolgardie).  This once prosperous town boasted a post and telegraph office, 2 hotels and several shops which did a good trade as a stopover for the daily coach from Coolgardie to Menzies.  Both the failure of the local mine and the coming of the railway put an end to the town's prosperity.